NFL Awards 2020 5
Shoe/Sports Blog

NFL Awards 2020


NFL Awards 2020

nfl awards 2020
Logo provided by Pixabay

Super Sunday is almost here and the NFL gave out awards for MVP and the Hall of Fame Class for 2020 was also announced. Let take a look at the awards for the 2019 season first.

Awards for the 2019 Season


Baltimore Ravens QB Lamar Jackson won the MVP award. Jackson was a unanimous decisions with getting all 50 votes. Jackson joins only Tom Brady (2010) to receive all 50 votes. Jackson is the third youngest player to win the MVP Award. Jackson season was simply amazing, he led the Ravens to a 14 win season.

NFL Coach of the Year

Ravens head coach John Harbaugh received Coach of the Year award. Ravens offensive coordinator Greg Roman received Assistant Coach of the Year. The Ravens are the first team since the Carolina Panthers in 2015 to win a MVP award and Coach of the Year award.

Offensive Player of the Year

New Orleans Saints Wide Receiver Michael Thomas beat out Lamar Jackson by only 2 vote to earn Offensive Player of the Year. Thomas is only the second wide receiver to win this award. Jerry Rice is the only other wide receiver to win Offensive Player of the Year. Thomas had an unbelievable season setting the single season record with 149 receptions.

Defensive Player of the Year

New England Patriots Stephon Gilmore became the 6th cornerback in NFL history to win the Defensive Player of the Year award. Gilmore is the first Patriot player to win this award. Gilmore had 6 interceptions and was tied for NFL lead. Gilmore is the first cornerback since Charles Woodson (2009) to win Defensive Player of the Year.

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Arizona Cardinals rookie QB Kyler Murray definitely lived up to all the hype that was surrounding him. Murray won Offensive Rookie of the Year. Murray is the first rookie since Cam Newton to pass for over 3,500 yards and rush for over 500 yards. Murray is a bright spot the Cardinals and it looks like Murray is on his way to a great career.

Defensive Rookie of the Year

San Francisco 49ers Defensive End Nick Bosa won Defensive Rookie of the Year. Bosa had a huge impact on the 49ers defense and recorded 9 sacks. Bosa, as a rookie, has become a leader for the 49ers defense. Bosa is a big part of why the 49ers will be playing in the Super Bowl this year.

Comeback Player of the Year

Tennessee Titans QB Ryan Tannehill won the Comeback Player of the Year. Tannehill led the Titans to the AFC Championship. Tannehill beat out QB Jimmy Garoppolo by only 1 vote. Garoppolo had a huge comeback season as well returning from a ACL injury and leading the 49ers to this years Super Bowl.

Thoughts By Fiddler #thoughtsbyfiddler

Join 141 other subscribers

NFL Awards 2020 6

Tip the Fiddler

I am accepting tips. If you love my blog sites and what I write, I will be using these tips to keep the website going.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.